# Area Planning Committees

The Council has established two Area Planning Committees.

The purpose of the Committees is to consider all planning applications not dealt with by officers using delegated powers.

These Rules detail the membership of the Committees and what the roles and responsibilities of the Committees are.

#### MEMBERSHIP

Each Committee shall comprise 13 Councillors all of whom shall have undertaken relevant training.

The Committee shall be politically balanced. Membership of each committee will be drawn from those members representing wards in each respective geographic area (North or South).

## SUBSTITUTIONS

Named substitutes. Substitutes must have completed relevant training.

Political groups may nominate their own members to the pool in accordance with the proportionalities in force at the time and may vary their nominees as and when required subject to the training requirements referred to.

## CHAIRMANSHIP

Term of office will be one year.

Annual Council shall appoint the Chair and Vice Chair of each committee.

Any in-year vacancies shall be elected/appointed by the committee at an ordinary meeting of that respective committee.

## QUORUM

The quorum shall be <mark>7</mark> voting members <mark>(including those acting as substitute members)</mark>.

## TERMS OF REFERENCE

To exercise the Council's functions relating to town and country planning and development management in relation to all planning applications that are not dealt with by officers using delegated powers.

Any planning application (not dealt with by officers under delegated authority) where the red line of the site crosses the boundary between the two committee areas shall be considered by the committee within which the largest area of the site is located.

#### MEETINGS OF COMMITTEE

Each committee will be scheduled to meet on a monthly basis, with dates included within the Municipal Timetable approved by Full Council.

Extraordinary (Special) meetings of a committee may be called by the Proper Officer, in consultation with the Chair of a committee (or in their absence the Vice Chair), subject to the normal provisions under the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended) and the Council's Constitution.

The Council's agreed Planning Public Participation Policy will apply to each committee.